There are only two (different) actions when you are permitted to reach beyond (over) the net: blocking and attack hit. After making an attack hit, you are allowed to pass your hand beyond the net, but the contact must have been made within your own playing space.... read more ›
If you reach over the net to play the ball while it's still on the other side of the net, it's a violation unless: The other team has already used all 3 of their hits. There are no players close enough to make a play on the ball.... see details ›
Yes, in many situations reaching over the net is perfectly legal. The problems arise when you play or try to play the ball while reaching over the net. This will most often result in the loss of a point immediately. Playing closely contested balls at the net is just a part of volleyball.... read more ›
10. No player may reach over or touch the net, or step over the center line (A players foot may land on the center line provided it is not entirely over the line. Also, while playing the ball in his/her court, a player is allowed to reach under the net, but must not touch the floor over the center line.... see more ›
Touching the net once the ball has bounced twice and the point is over is ok. Whilst you can't reach over the net to hit the ball (see exception below), it's okay if your racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on your side of the court, and the ball lands in the correct court.... see more ›
- Stepping on or over the line on a serve.
- Failure to serve the ball over the net successfully.
- Hitting the ball illegally (carrying, palming, throwing, etc).
- Touches of the net with any part of the body while the ball is in play. ...
- Reaching over the net, except under these conditions:
Players are not permitted to scoop, hold, and lift or push the ball. The ball may never be contacted with an open-hand underhanded motion. In addition, during the first hit of the team, except when serving, the ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively, provided the contacts occur during one action.... see more ›
USAV Rule for Net Contact
Touching the top band of the net or top 80cm of the antenna during his/her action of playing the ball. Taking support from the net simultaneously with playing the ball. Creating an advantage over the opponent.... view details ›
Why The Change To Allow Serving? The original concept behind the libero position was that they were strictly a defensive position that was created to sustain rallies by improved digging and better passing. They were not to be included in virtually any offense.... view details ›
Players can only be whistled for a net violation if they make contact with the net, between the antennas, while they are in the action of playing the ball (11.3). This includes their takeoff, hit, attempt to hit or while landing.... view details ›
- Ball bounces in opposition court.
- Opposition fail to hit the ball back over the net.
- Opposition hit the ball out of bounds.
- Opposition hit the ball more than three times before hitting over the net.
- Opposition player touches the net during play.
A player may cross the center line or its out of bounds extension with one or both feet/hands, provided a part of the foot/feet or hand/hands remains on or above the center. Contacting the floor across the center line with any other part of the body is illegal.... see more ›